The page is now loaded

5 Types of Foster Care Licenses We Offer

May is Foster Care Appreciation Month and here at RISE Services, Inc. Arizona we are so thankful for our foster parents and families. There are so many needs when it comes to foster care which is why we offer five different types of foster care licenses. Each license gives families or individuals the responsibility to care for children or adults who have a wide range of needs. We can help families choose the foster license they want based on the type of care they wish to give and their own family dynamics. 

5 Types of Foster Care Licenses We Offer

1. Family Foster Home License

Individuals or married couples who have a Family Foster Home License provide daily care for children who cannot be cared for in their own homes. Foster families offer these children a loving and safe home environment while their own parents are given a chance to receive the help they need so they can be the best parents for their children.

2. Kinship License

A Kinship License, also known as a Relative License, is for a family or individual that is related to the child. This license would be appropriate for grandparents, cousins, uncles, aunts, or older siblings. Placing a child in a home with people they already know can give that child a sense of security and well-being during a vulnerable time.

3. Respite License

A home that has a Respite License offers care on a temporary basis for foster children. This gives the primary foster family a much-needed break which can range anywhere from an afternoon or an entire week. This is also a great way to begin your own foster care journey while providing help for foster families and children.

4. Child Developmental Home License

A Child Developmental Home License allows foster families to care for children who have developmental disabilities such as autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, and more. Extra training and supervision are offered for families who choose to be licensed as a Child Development Home due to the special and sometimes intense needs of these children.

5. Adult Developmental Home License

A home with an Adult Developmental License is the same as a Child Developmental Home, except they are licensed to take care of adults with developmental disabilities. Again, we provide special training and support for these families, to help them as they care for adults with special needs.

Learn More About Foster Care Licensing

If you’d like to learn more about what it takes to become a licensed foster care home with RISE Arizona, contact us today or complete our Foster Care Licensing Intake Form. We’d be happy to answer any questions you may have and walk right alongside you as you prepare to become a foster care family for another family in need.

Source: Williams, Derek. “Foster Care Arizona: Here’s What You Gotta Know About Foster Care in Arizona.” Web article. 15 Feb. 2019. Web. 16 May. 2022.